July/August 2012 | Volume 31, No. 4

AFS 25th Anniversary - An Event to Remember

The six AFS members who have been active since 1987. Left to right: Scott Yaeger, Don Olds, Ed Gregor, Ken Rubow, Ernie Mayer and Lew Osterhoudt.

The American Filtration & Separations Society celebrated its 25th Anniversary June 4 - 7 at its 2012 Spring Conference in Boca Raton, Florida. The conference began with its traditional day of Short Courses on Monday based on 4-hour training sessions covering a variety of topics, including: Basics in Liquid Filtration, Basics in Air Filtration, Microfiltration Membranes, Filtration Media Use and Markets, Gas/Solid Separation with Fabric Filters, Filter Media Design, Ultrafiltration Membranes and Gas/Solid Separations with Cyclones.

Tuesday morning began with three plenary speakers and the topics of Decision Making, New Technology in IAQ and on the subject of Inorganic Membranes. The conference platform were two concurrent sessions each day including Tuesday, which covered New & Emerging Filtration Media, Water Reuse, Wastewater, Air Filtration, Media, Coalescing and Testing. Interspersed throughout the day was an opportunity for attendees to visit the many tabletop displays.

AFS officers and early involved members
in March, 1988.

The sessions were followed by a student poster session, a corporate sponsors meeting, a networking reception, and the 25th Anniversary Banquet. At the Banquet, Mark Willingham, second vice chairman of the AFS and banquet chairman, presented awards to six AFS members involved in the founding of the Society. Award plaques were given to Ernie Mayer, Don Olds, Lew Osterhoudt, Ken Rubow, Ed Gregor and Scott Yaeger, who was the first chairman of the AFS in 1987. A history of the AFS was presented and the involvement of the corporate sponsors over the years with a number of old photographs of early events and participants were also highlighted. Forty-six AFS Corporate Sponsors were presented 2012 Sponsorship plaques for their continuing support of the Society. Will Sarni of Deloitte gave a compelling keynote address on the topic of 21st Century Water - Opportunities and Risks. All conference attendees received a special AFS 25th Anniversary lapel pin as a memento of the event.

Wednesday began with three plenary speakers speaking on the topics of Germicidal Irradiation and Surface Disinfection, Liquid Filters in a Green Environment and IP Protection in China. The two-track session platform continued Tuesday with session on the subjects of Liquid Filtration, Modeling/Design, Porous Metal Filters and Engine Filtration. Prior to the Tuesday luncheon Awards Banquet, Deloitte's Will Sarni, the 25th Anniversary banquet speaker, hosted a two-hour meeting for AFS corporate sponsors where he went into greater depth and answered attendee question on the topic of water and its implications on companies and society in general. In what has become a popular and continuing program at each spring AFS conference, Rob Bender of Lydall, once again, organized the Latest and Best session. The program consisted of 10-minute fast-paced presentations on commercial products from 18 leading filtration industry related companies. For the newcomer to the industry-comments were made by several attendees that the value of the session was worth the price of admission to the entire conference. Tabletop displays continued to be quite busy with attendee traffic throughout the day.

Engineering Merit Award, left to right:
Bill Midgette, CEO, Porex Corporation; Ernie Mayer, Jeff Williams, VP/General Manager, Porex Filtration.

At the Tuesday Awards luncheon, recognition was given to a number of current and emerging industry leaders. They included: Young Scientist Award to Mathias Stolarski, Senior Scientist Award to Christine Sun, and the Fellow Member Award to Kyung-Ju Choi. The AFS Users Committee presented the New Product of the Year Award to IFTS Testing & Research for their Global Fuel Water Separation Filter Efficiency Test Stand, and the Engineering Merit Award to Porex Filtration for their TMF 61 Tube Module. KJ Choi received an award for serving as AFS Chairman in 2011. In addition, Joe Israel, Don Largent, Sean Meenan, Christophe Peuchot, Hooman Tafreshi and Peter Ping-Yi Tsai were awarded for their service on the AFS Board of Directors for 2010 and 2011.

Wednesday saw three additional plenary speakers on the topics of Membranes in our Future, Nanofibers in Filtration, and Indoor Air Quality. Sessions on Indoor Air Quality and Nanofibers followed.

The next AFS conference will be held at the Embassy Suites hotel this fall at the Philadelphia airport October 15-18. The theme of the conference is Innovation in Research and Applications with a heavy emphasis on the timely topics of Shale Gas, Fracking and Produced Water Filtration and Separations. The co-chairs for the conference include: Mathias Stolarski, DuPont; Karsten Keller, Solae, LLC; Shagufta Patel, PECOFacet; and Colin Tyrie, Clean H2O Services, Inc.

The American Filtration & Separations Society is the largest Filtration Society in the world and the principal educator of the industry.

For further information, please visit the AFS website: www.afssociety.org